Print Resources | Library Research Databases | Court Contact Information | Constitutions | Statutes and Bills | Regulations | Court Opinions | Court Rules | General Legal Sites | Paralegal and Legal Admin. Assistant Sites
Print Resources
Our Culinary branch has many great print resources for use in the paralegal and legal administrative assistant programs at Hickey College. These include Missouri Cases,Vernon’s Annotated Missouri Statutes, West’s Missouri Digest, as well as many books including How to Land Your First Paralegal Job (2009) and Job Placement Strategies for Paralegals (2008). We also have the print magazine, Paralegal Today, available in the library.
Search the Library Catalog for a specific topic. If you need help to find any of these resources, ask a librarian!
Library Research Databases
WestlawNext – (for Paralegal Students ONLY) Paralegal students, use the password given to you by Mr. Whiteside (or the Westlaw representative) to access WestlawNext.Click here to access a PDF copy of the most recent WestlawNext User’s Guide.
EBSCOhost Databases – Access law review articles from many different law schools as well as articles on legal and paralegal topics in academic journals and popular magazines through EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Elite.
LearningExpress Library – Access the eBook, Becoming a Paralegal, published by LearningExpress Library. LearningExpress Library requires you to register with a simple-to-create username and password to access their eBooks. (You must register on campus before being able to access LearningExpress remotely.)
Court Contact Information
Missouri Courts – Click on About Your Courts on the menu at the top of the page and then choose the type of court. Drill down through the list of links on the left side of any subsequent pages to access contact information.
Illinois Courts – Click on the Courts tab at the top of the page and then choose the type of court. On the next page, click on the link for contact information.
Federal Courts – Use this Advanced Search page to look for courts by location, type or circuit. Contact information for District (Circuit) Court clerks may be found by clicking on the “Read More” link in the box containing a photo of the court building at the top of the court’s web page.
Constitutions
Federal Constitution (Provided by FindLaw)
Illinois Constitution
Missouri Constitution
Statutes and Bills
Federal Statutes
Public Laws – Access public laws online from 1987/1988 to current.
United States Code – Federal statutes arranged by subject.
State Statutes and Bills
Illinois Compiled Statutes
Illinois Bills
Missouri Statutes and Session Laws – Click on the MO Statutes orSession Laws links on the left side of the page.
Missouri Bills
Regulations
Federal Regulations
Federal Register – Federal regulations published chronologically.
Code of Federal Regulations – Federal regulations published by subject.
State Regulations
Illinois Administrative Code
Missouri Code of State Regulations
Court Opinions
Supreme Court Opinions
Federal Reporter, 3rd Series – 1st, 2nd and 3rd Series available. Opinions of the Federal Court of Appeals. From OpenJurist.org.
Illinois Court Opinions – Click on Opinions under Supreme Court or Appellate Court on the left side of the page.
Missouri Court Opinions – Scroll down to the bottom of the page to access links.
Court Rules
Federal Court Rules – The following information is maintained by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell University Law School.
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
Federal Rules of Evidence
Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure
Illinois Court Rules
Supreme Court Rules
Illinois Rules of Evidence
Appellate Local Rules Circuit Courts – Each will have own set of rules, which may or may not be available on the web. Link through to information at specific court websites.
Illinois Code of Civil Procedure – Contained in the Illinois Combined Statutes listed above and directly through this link.
Missouri Court Rules
Supreme Court Rules and Operating Rules – Also includes appellate court rules.
Circuit Courts – Each will have own set of rules, which may or may not be available on the web. Link through to information at specific court websites.
General Legal Sites
beSpacific – A free, factual current awareness blog. Deep links to a range of documents from government, academic, NGO, corporate and legal sectors. Updated daily.
FindLaw – Users can conduct free case searches.
Illinois Courts – Illinois Courts Information Site. Contains Supreme, Appellate and Circuit Court information, including judges, and the opinions of the Supreme and Appellate Courts.
JURIST – Professionally trained staff of law faculty and law students at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law report and research the latest legal developments in real-time for members of the legal community and the public at large.
Justia – Comprehensive, searchable, and browseable directory of primary and secondary legal resources.
Law.com Quest – Provides results from across the Law.com network of sites and the legal web, including hundreds of hand-picked law firm websites and legal blogs.
Legal Talk Network – Provides podcasts that highlight important issues in the legal profession with high-profile guests in a talk show format. The podcasts are produced by professionals and are available on-demand on the Legal Talk Network website, in iTunes, by free subscription to RSS and from legal portals, blogs and social networking sites.
Missouri Courts – Full-text opinions, disposition of applications to transfer, writs, motions for rehearing and other matters, court docket summaries, judicial biographies, and more. Includes Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and Circuit Courts.
Nolo – Thousands of free articles on everyday legal topics. Articles are accurate, up to date, and written in plain English.
Paralegal and Legal Admin. Assistant Sites
Legal Secretaries International – Their mission is to increase the competencies of legal secretaries so that they may better serve attorneys, courts, businesses, and governments. Members include legal secretaries of all levels of experience.
NALS – NALS, the association for Legal Professionals, welcomes all members of the legal services profession…Paralegals, Legal Assistants, and Legal Secretaries. NALS provides continuing legal education, certifications and networking to all members of the legal community. NALS has many state and local chapters, including Missouri and NALS of Greater St. Louis.
National Association of Legal Assistants – NALA is the leading paralegal association in the US. NALA provides current information about the profession, continuing education materials and seminars, networking opportunities, professional certification programs, occupational survey findings and manuals. St. Louis Paralegal Association is the local chapter.
National Federation of Paralegal Associations – NFPA is an issues-driven, policy-oriented professional association directed by its membership. Includes what’s new, calendar, resources, CLE, products and services, and networking. The Missouri Paralegal Association and Illinois Paralegal Association are members.
Paralegal Gateway – ParalegalGateway.com offers support, professional information and recognition to paralegals who are making a difference in the legal profession and their communities.
Paralegal Today / Paralegal Resources – Paralegal Today magazine provides paralegals with the latest news, salary data, how-to, tips and cautions, software and hardware reviews, and digital forms.
Hickey College Library 